Love is not a Cage

 

 

 

 

Love is not a Cage

Love is not a cage,

Softly she said,

Let me go

Without an angry word.

My life is yet to be.

My dreams are just for me.

Fare thee well,

He said to her,

For only time will tell.

If hopes and dreams

Are what they seem.

 

I loved you once,

She said, upon a time.

But time, forever flows

Like a stream.

Just remember this,

He paused and said,

And I will say no more.

Love is not a cage.

As Shakespeare knew,

The course of love ne’er did run smooth

It wanders and meanders.

And perhaps like the Oxbow,

One day return to me

Leave a Reply

