Somewhere

The world is an empty place without you
The world is an empty place without you

I wish it were not so
Still
Somewhere in the world today
A bird sings
A flower blooms
The sun shines
And there is peace
But not here
Where forgiveness
Does not exist


There is sadness in knowing how little we know and joy in discovering something new, and sometimes a bit of both.

So it was in coming across the works of Henri Nouwen, Dutch author, Catholic priest, and philosopher, who wrote, “Did I offer peace today? Did I bring a smile to someone’s face? Did I say words of healing? Did I let go of my anger and resentment? Did I forgive? Did I love? These are the real questions. I must trust that the little bit of love that I sow now will bear many fruits, here in this world and the life to come.”

If you like this tidbit of wisdom then you can learn more about Henri Nouwen.

Leave a Reply

