Not where but how

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters in the end.” – Ursula K. Le Guin

bus-2

It is not where but how and with whom. Never why and when is now. Just know that wherever you go and with whomever you go that becomes a part of you forever.

Saint Augustine of Hippo said, “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” I choose to quote Augustine not only for his wisdom but for the fact that he lived in the Roman city of Hippo on the north African coastline. It is a city where my wife’s family took root briefly before the Algerian War dispossessed France of its colony. Saint Augustine is also the patron saint of brewers, proving, I guess, that it is nice to have a beer near by when reading a good book.

We are all connected somehow.

As Saint Augustine suggests, we can travel with words and books and this, gentle reader leads me to my dilemma.
There are two kinds of men in this world. Those who read books and those who read Kindle.

I am of the first sort. Having grown up with books, loving the smell of a pages like the smell of a coffee bag freshly opened, hearing the crack of the binding and the rustle of the pages, I cannot leave my old friends. Books are meant to be kept close by where needing a friendly word or two or a good story, the book can be held and the words read lovingly as in a conversation between old friends.

Old friends, here is my fear. The computer is too near at hand. And serpent that I am, I will tempt you.

Ursala K. Guin, who I quoted earlier gave an entertaining interview to the Paris Review in the Fall of 2013.  The interview by John Wray took place in Guin’s hillside house in Portland, Oregon near its famous zoo and attractive Rose Garden and with a view of Mount St. Helens in the distance. You can get there from here with the click of a key. http://www.theparisreview.org/interviews/6253/the-art-of-fiction-no-221-ursula-k-le-guin

As a bit of a stoic, I cannot help but amend Guin’s observation and say, “It matters to have an end to journey towards, but in the end it is the journey that matters.”

 

Leave a Reply

