I didn’t mean to be mean

“I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become.”
Carl Jung – from Memories, Dreams, Reflections.

peppercorn-steak
image by peppercornsteak.ca

 

Knock-down argument with first born child. We separate like fighters after a ten round fight – no-decision, bloodied and bruised, barely able to make it back to our own stools.
Time for a little psycho-therapy, right?
Here it is. All that crap about me traumatizing your childhood, me insulting your looks, me destroying your confidence? Get, get, get, get, get over it. Move on and take control of your own life.
To become a personality, I mean something real and not made up by magazines and TV shows, you have got to write your own story…

So, I said, when you asked for a piece of my steak, “let me cut you something lean.” I didn’t mean to be mean. It’s healthier, get it. I could have been funny and said, we are what we eat.
And you would say, “I become what I choose to eat.”

 

 

Memories, Dreams, Reflections, full text.

Leave a Reply

