How did I get here?

How did I get here? In a canoe on a lake in Saskatchewan with a paddle and nowhere to go but across, and when I fall asleep tonight under a blue sky and the starlight and a full moon looking down on me, I want nothing more than to know how did I get here and where do I go.
Life is not always so serene.

girl-canoe
image by Roberto Nickson

There are chance meetings and couplings, marriages and births and deaths. There are wars and peace and they both play a part in life. There are choices we make that make no sense. Like the time that I swam in the ocean off Hawaii with the turtles and the sharks did not bite. Or the moment on the mountain in Colorado when I didn’t fall but your boyfriend did and slipped to his death.  There were jobs not taken and jobs taken and jobs that I quit. And all of these things lead me to you.

Life is not always serene.

There were days when I wanted to quit.  It rains, it storms, the lightening is bright and winters are bleak. The children, God bless them, have grown and have lives of their own. Leave them alone, I hope they find peace. Perhaps in our travels life has changed or has time changed us.  What is the point of arguing over coffee cups and the grinds of the beans left in the sink?

And that is how I got here darling, but where do we go?

Leave a Reply

