I Love to Get Up

Maybe, this post should have been titled, “What I think, I am.” I’ll explain… eventually.

Now, older and wiser, Oz, the author of this blog, loves to get up in the morning. Before the sun rises, still sleepy eyed, to stumble out of bed, to brush my teeth, to take a pee, to walk downstairs while the dog stays in bed, to go outside, to feel the cool breeze, to watch the sky turn from black to blue, then red to orange. To talk to the birds, while I water the plants.

At last, to taste that first cup of coffee. To feel alive in the morning.

It wasn’t always so.

As a school kid, Oz, the author of this blog, hated to get up like any normal school kid. Alarm clocks didn’t work, so dad came to the room singing, “It’s time to get up, it’s time to get up in the morning.” To which I would pull the covers over my head while a second and third chorus sounded out until I got up. Mom, was the wiser of the two parents. The smell of hot pancakes and syrup did the trick.

Dad, of course, was recalling his old army days and doing a remake of Irving Berlin’s hit song, “Oh, how I hate to get up in the morning.” From the 1943 musical, This is the Army.

In case you are having trouble getting up, Here it is.

I suppose, if this post has a point, and if the song has a meaning, that it is this. You make your life what it is. Your attitude colors your world. If you hate to get up in the morning, the rest of your day will likely be the same. On the other hand, if you love to get up in the morning, great things will happen because you will it.

And if one wants to turn this into a philosophy lesson then one can quote a little Descartes, “I think, therefore, I am. “

Or as Oz likes to say, “What I think, I am.”

Hey, didn’t Thomas the Engine say something like that?

One Comment Add yours

  1. topekakathy says:

    I always sing that song to myself in the morning. Didn’t remember Dad singing it tho.

    Sent from my iPad by Kathy Davis

    >

    Like

Leave a comment